Rhubarb Ginger Cream Pie

Summer in my family is highly associated with visits to grandparents in Wisconsin; bratwurst on the grill and sweet corn from roadside stands. Sadly, when I was growing up my Grandmother had pretty much given up baking, but we did at least get her recipes. This pie is one she often made with rhubarb she grew in the garden and it is one of my fathers particular favorites. I have made it my own with a small change to the spices added to the filling,  hope you enjoy it.

The Recipe:

Grandma’s Rhubarb Cream Pie

  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 3 tbls. flour
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg or ginger
  • 1 tbls butter
  • 2 well beaten eggs
  • 3 cups cubed rhubarb
  • 1 recipe plain pastry for double crust

Blend sugar flour, nutmeg/ginger, butter and eggs. Beat smooth, pour over rhubarb in 9″ pasty lined pie pan. Top with other half of pastry. Bake at 450 degrees for 10 min, then 350 degrees for 30 min. Remove from oven and let sit 10-15 min to cool and set.

Enjoy with a light fruity cuppa tea, we had Upton’s Special Blend Darjeeling FTGFOP, they have many different varieties of Darjeeling.

4 Comments

Filed under darjeeling, pie, recipe, tea

4 responses to “Rhubarb Ginger Cream Pie

  1. craftthefinalfrontier

    That sounds scrumptious! I will be trying the recipe very soon.

  2. GypsyKnitter

    Oooooo

  3. knitzippy

    My mom made rhubarb pie when I was little, the creamy part of your recipe is interesting.
    Nice blog and beautiful photos!

    Knitzippy (found you from your ravelry post)

Leave a comment